Winners, Sinulog personalities awarded

Father of Sinulog David S. Odilao, Jr.

CEBU CITY — Several personalities received recognition in the awarding ceremony of the 30th Sinulog celebration Monday.

Aside from the winning contingents, the people who have always been part of the three-decade long Sinulog were also acknowledged.

Former Cebu City mayor Ronald Duterte and Jose P. Lardizabal, two of the original incorporators of the Sinulog foundation, received a posthumous award.

Other original incorporators of Sinulog Foundation who have received a plaque of recognition were Ramon Durano III, Paterno Lu YM Sr., Esteban Go Sing King, Francisco L. Benedicto, Augusto W. Go, Joseph S. Gaisano, Lin S. Liu, Segundino L. Go, Anos Fonacier, Jose E. Garcia and Amando Martinez Jr.

Honorable Florentino Solon, David S. Odilao Jr., Renato V. Osmeña, Dolores M. Suzara, Estelita “Inday Titang” Diola, Juan “Dodong” Aquino Jr. (Posthumous Award), Matias “Dandin” Ranillo and Mike Hanopol were also distinguished for being the pillars of the Sinulog festival.

IPI floatLumad Basakanonmabolomabolo2

Choreographers who have produced three or more prizes in the three decades Sinulog Festival – Dennis Navarro, Norman Navarro, Emelio “Jojin” Pascual, Victor Cuenco, Walter Betito, Valention “Val” San Diego and Melquiades “Myche” Gonzales Jr. (Posthumuous award) – also received an award.

Schools and universities that have participated in the first Sinulog parade and the contingents that have won three or more awards in the grand parade were also recognized.

Pintaflores, San Carlos City2mabolo queenlanao del NortePintaflores, San Carlos City3Pintaflores, San Carlos CityPintaflores, San Carlos City4

The top three winners of the Sinulog 2010 competitions, such as the onsite décor, float, visual merchandising, higante, and puppeteers, were also awarded.

Another highlight of the awarding were the repeat performances of the Sinulog 2010 street dancing winners and the Sinulog-based and free interpretation categories’ winners.

Cebu City Mayor Tommy Osmeña also credited the ‘unsung heroes’ — the different local government sectors, organizers, volunteers, parents, supporters, and all the people who have helped in maintaining the security, peace and order, as well as sanitation of the city in the successful celebration of the feast of the Senior Sto. Niño. (SBG)


Sinulog 2010 Winners

Sinulog-Based Category

1st– Tangub City, Sinanduloy Cultural Troupe
2nd– Abellana National School
3rd– Carcar City (Silaw Culture and Arts of DepEd NHS)
4th– Barangay Lahug
5th– Don Sergio Osmeña Sr. Memorial National High School

Best in Costume — Carcar City (Silaw Culture and Arts of DepEd NHS)

Free Interpretation Category

1st — Tribu Hinag-ulaw, Placer, Masbate
2nd — Lumad Basakanon
3rd — Pintaflores, San Carlos City
4th — The land of Beauty and Bounty/Lanao del Norte
5th — Mabolo Elemnetary School

Bets in Costume — Pintaflores, San Carlos City

Street Dancing

1st — Tangub City, Sinanduloy Cultural Troupe
2nd — Lumad Basakanon
3rd — The Land of Beauty and Bounty, Lanao del Norte

Best in Musicality– Lumad Basakanon

On Site Décor

1st — Silver Wing Motors
2nd — Southern Partners and Fair Trade Center
3rd — Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas


1st — IPI
2nd — Virginia Foods, Inc.
3rd — LBC

Visual Merchandising

1st — Elizabeth Mall
2nd — Gaisano Country Mall
3rd — Metro Gaisano Colon


1st — Giovanni Ibos
2nd — Arnulfo Enjambre
3rd — Arnulfo Enjambre


1st — Pierre Famador
2nd — Pierre Famador
3rd — Dolly Jeane Lansaderas

One comment

  1. baby says:

    why camp lapulapu did not win?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


LISTEN: The Sinulog Beat

This text will be replaced by the flash music player.





Featuring Recent Posts WordPress Widget development by YD